In 2012 @westendproducer ran the first ever online talent contest - 'Search For A Twitter Star' - with the aim of finding and supporting new musical theatre talent. WEP knew how difficult it was for new performers to make an impact at the start of their careers - and found it rather frustrating that the same people were playing the same parts in the West End year after year.

So he devised a contest that would allow anybody, from anywhere to enter - and have total control of their entry. All that was required was for contestants to upload a video of themselves singing a musical theatre song - and that was it. There were no heavy guidelines, or strict rules about how to perform the song or where - the contestant's entry was entirely down to the individuals themselves.

Every single entry got feedback from WEP and his judges via twitter - offering constructive and useful information about their performance. Then from 500 entries - the semi-finalists were chosen by the public via online voting. 

After that the finalists were chosen using the same format - culminating in a performance at the Lyric Theatre, Shaftesbury Avenue. The live final had a select panel of industry judges : WEP, Mike Dixon, Louise Dearman, Gemma Lowy Hamilton and David King. The winners also performed with West End Stars Kerry Ellis and Jon Lee. It was a marvellous night and a WORLD FIRST. The live final was the first ever entire LIVE TWEETING THEATRE EVENT. Audience members were asked to tweet about the finalists throughout the evening - so that everybody in the theatre could voice their opinion. After much deliberation, heated conversation, barrels of alcohol and a few deaths, the winners Felipe Bejarano and Kara Bayer were crowned the winners.

WEP would like to thank the brilliant Tony Green for making the event possible - it was his vision that moved the contest into the west end. Also huge thanks to the brilliant support of Trevor Chenery, Anne Vosser, Peter Polycarpou, Harvey Norton and the whole creative team.

WEP with winners Felipe Bejarano and Kara Bayer