WEP worked alongside Michael Peavoy productions and the Soho Theatre to present Search For a Twitter Composer  (#SFATC).

#SFATC was an online contest aimed at finding, nurturing and supporting new musical theatre composers. 

At the time of the contest WEP wrote :

'It's time for a change, dear.

​​I often spend evenings relaxing with my Jean Valjean teddy listening to musicals. And while I am always thrilled to hear the soundtracks of classic shows, my passion has always been new work. There have recently been lots of new musicals – each remarkably different and daring in their own way. But now we want to push this new work and talent further – by actively searching, supporting, and helping new composers. It is particularly difficult getting an original musical off the ground – what with the costs involved for both the development and performance period  - and composers often don’t get the support they need. We want to help make your music as brilliant and vital as possible. We want to find someone with an individual voice, a distinctive sound - with something exciting and groundbreaking to offer to the world of musical theatre to lead the #Revolution!

The contest had 99 entries from all around the country - and only goes to show the amazing array of undiscovered writing talent we have.'

Working closely with Michael Peavoy, WEP and his team spent months listening to all the work. 

The range and diversity of the entries made choosing the semi-finalists very difficult indeed. But, just like 'Search For A Twitter Star' it was the public who decided which 12 composers went through to the live heats at the Soho Theatre.

The live heats played an important role for the composers  - as it allowed their work to be seen and heard by influential professionals in the business. On the judging panel: Mark Shenton, Ruthie Henshall, Caroline Routh, Andy Barnes, Raz Shaw, Mike Dixon, Gina beck, Dougal Irvine, Drew McOnie, Christopher Luscombe and Louise Jury. 

The live final at the Soho Theatre took place on the 21st July. Finalists were: Christopher J Orton, Matt Board, Graham Mercer, Patricia Panther and James Oban & Yiannis G. Kotsakos. 

WEP and the winner of #SFATC - Graham Mercer, with his musical FACEHUNTERS.

Highly commended was Matt Board with FANATICAL.